Island Prelude

ob-2vln-va-vc - Joan Tower
Sales price: $40.00
Sales price without tax: $40.00
Composer: TOWER, Joan

For oboe and string quartet, original for oboe and wind Quartet, also available under ww5 listing / 10 minute piece / written and premiered in 1989, not in print until 2007, orchestra parts also available on rental.  The piece begins slow and consonant, gradually becoming more active and dissonant.  After two short and engetic oboe cadenzas the piece returns to a final coda, high, sustained, slow, and distant. A stunning work for a graduate recital!

TOWER, joan
oboe, 2 violins, viola, cello